Arizona Field Ornithologist
©2008
HOME | REPORT SIGHTINGS | PHOTOS | BIRDING | JOURNAL | ABOUT US | CHECKLISTS | MIGRATION COUNT | EVENTS | LINKS

ARIZONA CHRISTMAS BIRD COUNT SCHEDULE - 2017-2018

The National Audubon Society has conducted Christmas bird counts since the year 1900. Volunteers from throughout the Western Hemisphere go afield during one calendar day between December 14 and January 5 to record every bird species and individual bird encountered within a designated 15-mile diameter circle. These records now comprise an extensive ornithological database that enables monitoring of winter bird populations and the overall health of the environment.

Participants are typically assigned to teams based on their bird identification skills and endurance. Many counts hold a compilation dinner at the end of the day where results are tabulated and stories shared. There is no longer a participation fee. Help is needed on most of these counts, so find one or more of interest to you and contact the compiler for information.

by Walter Thurber

 

The 2017-2018 Arizona CBC list is below (for a description of greater Phoenix area Christmas Bird Counts click here.)

CBC map of all the Arizona circles is found here. Zoom in to the Arizona map and select circle of interest.

Pre-CBC workshop- designed for new and seasoned CBC participants and area leaders. It will provide tips and techniques for making your annual CBC experience even better. The pre-CBC workshop will be held December 9th in Phoenix, details here.


Date Day Count Name Compiler Phone Email*
           
14-Dec
Th Patagonia Thomas Arny 520-394-0146 pvndnbr5 at gmail.com
14-Dec
Th Salt-Verde Rivers Kurt Radamaker 480-585-1606 kurtrad at mexicobirding.com
14-Dec
Th Sedona  Richard Armstrong 928-282-3675 richarmstrong at q.com
14-Dec
Th Tucson Valley  Luke Safford 520-629-0510 saffordluke at gmail.com
 
         
16-Dec
Sa Avra Valley Claudia Johnson 509-264-9076 claudialj at mac.com
16-Dec
Sa Buenos Aires NWR Bonnie Swarbrick 520-240-3737 bonnie.swarbrick at gmail.com
16-Dec
Sa Cabeza Prieta NWR Christopher Riesberg 520-387-4988 christopher_riesberg at fws.gov
16-Dec
Sa Hassayampa River Vanessa Montgomery  623-465-0012 hassayampacbc at yahoo.com
16-Dec
Sa Martinez Lake-Yuma Lin Piest 928-341-4049 lpiest at azgfd.gov
16-Dec
Sa Mormon Lake Terence Blows 928-774-8028 terence.blows at nau.edu
16-Dec
Sa Nogales Michael Bissontz 520-577-8778 seetrogon at comcast.net
16-Dec
Sa Santa Catalina Mountains Kendall Kroesen 520-971-2385 kkroesen at cox.net
 
         
17-Dec
Su Grand Canyon Brian Gatlin 928-638-7723 brian_gatlin at nps.gov
17-Dec
Su Jerome  Julie Wills 928-300-9775 jwills282 at hotmail.com
17-Dec
Su Ramsey Canyon Ken Blankenship 770-317-8486 kenhblankenship at comcast.net
 
         
18-Dec
Mo Chino Valley Russell Duerksen 928-925-5567 duerksen at msn.com
18-Dec
Mo Lukeville Emily Conant 520-387-6849 emily_conant at nps.gov
 
         
19-Dec
Tu Atascosa Highlands Jake Mohlmann 610-390-2424 mohlmann2 at yahoo.com
19-Dec
Tu Organ Pipe Cactus NM Emily Conant 520-387-6849 emily_conant at nps.gov
 
         
20-Dec
We Phoenix-Tres Rios Marceline VandeWater 602-689-4356 marceline at ermaroni.net
20-Dec
We Prescott Carl Tomoff 928-778-2626 tomoff at northlink.com
           
21-Dec  Th Saint David Heather Swanson 520-439-6429 SPRNCAbird at hotmail.com
           
23-Dec
Sa Superior Cynthia Donald 480-283-4515 planres at earthlink.net
 
         
27-Dec
We Gila River Troy Corman 602-717-2928 aplomado at cox.net
27-Dec
 We Willow Beach Joseph Saccomanno 928-767-4772 joseph_saccomanno at fws.gov
           
28-Dec
Th Bill Williams River NWR Kathleen Blair 928-667-4144 kathleen_blair at fws.gov
 
         
29-Dec
Fr Carefree Cathryn Wise 602-301-7530 cwise at audubon.org
29-Dec
Fr Havasu NWR DeeDee DeLorenzo 928-758-2707 deedeedelorenzo at gmail.com
 
         
30-Dec
Sa Flagstaff-Mount Elden Terence Blows 928-774-8028 terence.blows at nau.edu
30-Dec
Sa Portal [Open] 520-558-2287 winjac12 at vtc.net
 
         
1-Jan
Mo Camp Verde Holly Kleindienst 928-853-6887 hollykleindienst at gmail.com
 
         
2-Jan
Tu Dudleyville Doug Jenness 520-909-1529 d_jenness at hotmail.com
2-Jan
Tu Payson  David Hallock 928-474-9475 eldoradh at rmi.net
 
         
3-Jan
We Appleton-Whittell Suzanne Wilcox 520-455-5522 swilcox at audubon.org
3-Jan
We Glen Canyon John Spence 928-608-6267 john_spence at nps.gov
 
         
5-Jan
Fr Timber Mesa Mary Ellen Bittorf 928-367-2462 mcbitt30 at cableone.net
 
         
    Unknown
  Green Valley-Madera Canyon [Open] 520-399-4050 empidonax at netzero.net

 

* Change at to @ and delete spaces before sending  

 


Greater White-fronted Goose, photo by Troy Corman Rufous-backed Robin, photo by Marceline VandeWater

 

 

 

 


 


©2005
HOME | REPORT SIGHTINGS | PHOTOS | BIRDING | JOURNAL | ABOUT US | CHECKLISTS | AZ BIRD COMMITTEE | EVENTS | LINKS