Arizona Field Ornithologist
©2008
HOME | REPORT SIGHTINGS | PHOTOS | BIRDING | JOURNAL | ABOUT US | CHECKLISTS | MIGRATION COUNT | EVENTS | LINKS

ARIZONA CHRISTMAS BIRD COUNT SCHEDULE - 2018-2019

The National Audubon Society has conducted Christmas bird counts since the year 1900. Volunteers from throughout the Western Hemisphere go afield during one calendar day between December 14 and January 5 to record every bird species and individual bird encountered within a designated 15-mile diameter circle. These records now comprise an extensive ornithological database that enables monitoring of winter bird populations and the overall health of the environment.

Participants are typically assigned to teams based on their bird identification skills and endurance. Many counts hold a compilation dinner at the end of the day where results are tabulated and stories shared. There is no longer a participation fee. Help is needed on most of these counts, so find one or more of interest to you and contact the compiler for information.

by Walter Thurber

 

The 2018-2019 Arizona CBC list is below (for a description of greater Phoenix area Christmas Bird Counts click here.)

CBC map of all the Arizona circles is found here. Zoom in to the Arizona map and select circle of interest.

Pre-CBC workshop- designed for new and seasoned CBC participants and area leaders. It will provide tips and techniques for making your annual CBC experience even better. The pre-CBC workshop will be held December 8th in Phoenix, details here.


Date Day Count Name Compiler Phone Email*
           
14-Dec Fr Salt-Verde Rivers Kurt Radamaker 480-585-1606 kurtrad at mexicobirding.com
           
15-Dec Sa Avra Valley Claudia Johnson 509-264-9076 claudialj at mac.com
15-Dec Sa Cabeza Prieta NWR Christopher Riesberg 520-387-6483 christopher_riesberg at fws.gov
15-Dec Sa Hassayampa River Chrissy Kondrat 623-451-1250 azdesertbird at gmail.com
15-Dec Sa Martinez Lake-Yuma Lin Piest 928-341-4049 lpiest at azgfd.gov
15-Dec Sa Mormon Lake [Open]   terence.blows at nau.edu
15-Dec Sa Nogales Alan Schmierer 805-801-3701 aaschmierer at yahoo.com
15-Dec Sa Santa Catalina Mountains Kendall Kroesen 520-971-2385 kkroesen at cox.net
           
16-Dec Su Grand Canyon Brian Gatlin 928-638-7723 brian_gatlin at nps.gov
16-Dec Su Jerome  Tina Greenawalt 503-927-1367 tina_greenawalt at nps.gov
16-Dec Su Ramsey Canyon Ken Blankenship 770-317-8486 kenblankenshipbirding at gmail.com
           
17-Dec Mo Chino Valley Russell Duerksen 928-925-5567 duerksen at msn.com
           
18-Dec Tu Tucson Valley  Luke Safford 520-629-0510 saffordluke at gmail.com
           
19-Dec We Phoenix-Tres Rios Marceline VandeWater 602-689-4356 marceline at ermaroni.net
19-Dec We Prescott Carl Tomoff 928-778-2626 tomoff at northlink.com
           
20-Dec Th Patagonia Patsy Vandenberge 520-604-6601 pvndnbr5 at gmail.com
           
21-Dec Fr Atascosa Highlands John Yerger 814-308-4078 john at adventurebirding.com
21-Dec Fr Saint David Heather Swanson 520-307-4405 SPRNCAbird at hotmail.com
21-Dec Fr Sedona  Richard Armstrong 928-282-3675 richarmstrong at q.com
           
26-Dec We Superior Joy Bell 480-760-1393 joyabell_az at yahoo.com
           
27-Dec Th Bill Williams River NWR [Open] 928-667-4144 glenn_klingler at fws.gov
27-Dec Th Gila River Troy Corman 602-717-2928 aplomado02 at gmail.com
           
28-Dec Fr Green Valley-Madera Canyon Malcolm Chesworth 203-947-2440 malcolmsc at yahoo.com
28-Dec Fr Havasu NWR DeeDee DeLorenzo 928-758-2707 deedeedelorenzo at gmail.com
           
29-Dec Sa Buenos Aires NWR Bonnie Swarbrick 520-240-3737 bonnie.swarbrick at gmail.com
29-Dec Sa Flagstaff-Mount Elden Terence Blows   terence.blows at nau.edu
29-Dec Sa Portal Jackie Lewis 520-558-2287 winjac12 at vtc.net
29-Dec Sa Willow Beach Joseph Saccomanno 928-767-4772 joseph_saccomanno at fws.gov
           
30-Dec Su Carefree Cathryn Wise 602-301-7530 cwise at audubon.org
           
2-Jan We Camp Verde Kay Hawklee 432-703-0007 khawklee at gmail.com
2-Jan We Payson  David Hallock 928-474-9475 eldoradh at rmi.net
           
3-Jan Th Appleton-Whittell Suzanne Wilcox 520-455-5522 swilcox at audubon.org
           
4-Jan Fr Glen Canyon John Spence 928-608-6267 john_spence at nps.gov
           
5-Jan Sa Dudleyville Doug Jenness 520-909-1529 d_jenness at hotmail.com
5-Jan Sa Timber Mesa Mary Ellen Bittorf 928-367-2462 mcbitt30 at cableone.net
           
Unknown   Lukeville [Open] 520-387-6849 rijk_morawe at nps.gov
Unknown   Organ Pipe Cactus NM [Open] 520-387-6849 rijk_morawe at nps.gov
Unknown   Tonto NM - Roosevelt Lake Danielle Herzner 860-940-8187 herznerdani at yahoo.com

 

* Change at to @ and delete spaces before sending  

 


Greater White-fronted Goose, photo by Troy Corman Rufous-backed Robin, photo by Marceline VandeWater

 

 

 

 


 


©2005
HOME | REPORT SIGHTINGS | PHOTOS | BIRDING | JOURNAL | ABOUT US | CHECKLISTS | AZ BIRD COMMITTEE | EVENTS | LINKS